orcinus-ocean:

orcinus-ocean:

Everything below is posted with liberty and credit to Jemima Harrison and the PDE blog, with the sole purpose for this information to spread as far as possible.

Time to get tough

It is…

• soon to be 10 years since Pedigree Dogs Exposed
• five years since The Advisory Council on the Welfare Issues of Dog
Breeding highlighted the issues linked to head conformation in
brachycephalic breeds
• 18 months since the publication of research (funded by the kennel
club) spelling out the link between stenosis (pinched nostrils) and
respiratory issues, especially in French Bulldogs
• a year since a veterinary petition demanding urgent reform for flat-faced dogs
• almost a year since the Kennel Club set up the Brachcycephalic Breeds Working Group in response to that petition

.. and of course I have highlighted the issue of pinched nostrils endlessly here on this blog.

Endlessly.

And yet… the picture at the top is one the Kennel Club has used as the
ideal depiction of the French Bulldog in its new edition (2017) of its Illustrated Breed Standards.

And it isn’t a one-off. Here’s the one the KC has used for the Boston Terrier standard.

The Bulldog.

And the Pug.

Dogs are as near-as-damn-it obligate nose breathers. And even if they
can supplement by mouth-breathing when they are awake, they are unable
to do so when they are asleep, meaning thousands of these dogs live
lives of interrupted sleep as they have to wake up in order to not
asphyxiate.

Study after study has shown that these dogs pay the price for not being
able to pull in a decent lungful of air and that starts with the
nostrils.

These pictures are all the proof you need that the Kennel Club is not
taking this issue seriously; that at its very core the KC is paying
nothing more than lip-service to the demands for reform by the
veterinary profession and animal welfare campaigners.

At one of the first meetings of the Brachycephalic Breeds Working Group,
then KC Chairman Steve Dean expressly said that he didn’t want
“changing the breed standards” to be at the top of everyone’s list of
actions that could be taken.

And indeed, it hasn’t been.

There have been some new measures.  The KC continues to fund brachy research. There is also now a brachy learning resource
available on the KC website, the promise of better education of judges
and a breed club commitment to educate better about the importance of
keeping brachycephalics slim. There are also now health schemes for the
Bulldog, French Bulldog and the Pug which do test for respiratory
issues.

All this is welcome. But, bottom line, the Kennel Club continues to bat
for the breeders who do not want the basic phenotype to change because
it’s the breeders that pay their wages.

Of course the simplest, quickest remedy is to give these dogs
back some muzzle – to help not just with breathing issues, but to help
protect their eyes from trauma and to give their teeth some room in
their overcrowded mouths (a Pug here compared to an Australian
Shepherd).

The problem is that breeders are wedded to flat faces, particularly in
Pugs and Bulldogs. They talk about the perfect “layback” – which
essentially means that the nose should not interrupt the line between
the forehead and tip of the dog’s chin.

In fact, there’s a new book out on the Pug head (yours for only $159)
which reminds everyone that the word Pug comes from the latin for
“fist” and that this is the shape the Pug’s head should be in profile –
i.e. totally flat.

Here’s a reminder from a top UK show breeder of what the Bulldog’s head should look like.

As you can see, a  protruding nose or a less severe underbite is considered a fault.

There was a big review of breed standards following Pedigree Dogs Exposed
but it was mostly to add vague qualifiers such as, in the Pug standard,
 "relatively" short rather than just short when describing the length
of the muzzle. This gives the breeders way too much wiggle room.  We
need proper metrics – a defined minimum skull/head/muzzle ratio and we
need to find more profound ways to change their minds about what
constitutes their breed in their eyes.

Large open nostrils are a requirement in brachy breed standards, but
this is widely ignored because other points of the breed are considered
more important. There would be outrage if a Frenchie with one lop ear
or a Bulldog with a liver-coloured nose won in the show-ring, but dogs
with slits for nostrils continue to be made up to champions.

Meanwhile, on my CRUFFA group,
whenever you post a picture of more moderate examples of the breed,
current of historical, the breeders heap scorn. A few days ago, one
breeder insisted that the dog featured in this famous painting of a Pug
by Carl Reichert, dating from the late 19th century, was a crossbreed.

Same for these ones. Mongrels, the lot of them.

She admitted that the eye-white showing was undesirable but preferred the look of this Crufts dog.

Today, this was posted on a public Facebook page by one French Bulldog
breeder in response to a plea by vets for more moderate dogs.

(My bolding below)

To those who say you cannot rebuild Rome in a day I say… rubbish. There are already more moderate versions of these breeds out there being
bred by breeders more interested in health than the current fashion. 

For more than 10 years, I have called for moderation and hoped it would
come from the breeders. But  I now know it won’t. If we want anything
more than a wee bit of tweaking round the edges, then we need to demand
it.

It is time to get tough. These dogs suffer – not all of them all the time but too many of them too often. 

Brachycephalics live a third less long than non-brachy dogs. Fifty per
cent have significant airway disease. Almost all struggle to cool
themselves. Most Bulldogs still can’t mate or give birth naturally. Pugs
have 19 times the risk of developing corneal ulcers.  All suffer from
very low genetic diversity. And so on.

Today, Bulldogs, French Bulldogs and Pugs make up one in five of the
dogs registered with the Kennel Club – up from one in 50 in 2005.

Yesterday, a new petition was launched asking for a ban on brachycephalics.  Over 20k people signed it in the first 24 hrs.

Have we reached a tipping point?  With your help.

I haven’t been able to blog much recently because I am busy finishing
off a television series for BBC2. But I have taken time out to write
this because the new breed standard pictures made me so angry.

So please… Although it’s moderation I want, not a ban, sign the petition. Make your feelings known to the Kennel Club (see here). Complain if brands or media use generic pictures of brachycephalics to sell their wares.

Vets: thank you so much for all that you are now doing, but please keep the pressure on.

And, of course, to everyone out there – please don’t buy that puppy.

It is not safe to buy a Pug, Bulldog or French Bulldog. Not safe for them and not safe for your wallet.

Seriously people. This deserves 6000 notes. It’s not even my text, so it’s not like I’m attention-fishing.

mysterybensmysteryblog:

Just to put an official stance on it out in the wild here-

Please don’t make compilation videos of the MSA series and then upload them to your Youtube channel. 

While I appreciate the desire to share our work as much as possible, compiling the videos together and having them on your own personal channel does ultimately hurt us, as the views from that video get taken away from ours, which can in fact hurt our ability to produce future content.

Unless there is some manner of transformative property to the videos, such as stating theories, giving a review, adding personal reactions, etc, I will politely ask that you do not simply upload the videos in full without adding anything of your own to it.

This applies regardless whether you link back to us in the description and say that you won’t monetize the video.

Oh and uh… don’t slice out the credits of said videos either…. that’s uh… not cool, let’s say.

beckyhop:

beckyhop:

Yeah, regarding that suicide hotline post I reblogged: I genuinely worry, with the number of mentally ill people on this site trying to live with and/or ease their mental illness, that some of these people are going to get tricked by Scientologist anti-psychiatry propaganda. I mean, that’s how cults lure people in; they pick people who feel there’s something missing or wrong with their lives and take advantage of them by claiming to have the solution to all their problems.

I’ve joked in the past about “What if the Church of Scientology got a Tumblr?” but there’s a part of me that’s worried that there are Scientologists on Tumblr trying to spread dangerous misinformation about mental health.

I hope that part of me is wrong.

UPDATE: So, uh, turns out a branch of $cientology technically HAS made Tumblr blogs. Several of them. If you see any blogs promoting a drug rehab facility called “Narconon”, please be aware that they ARE associated with the Church of $cientology, and they have a rather troubling history: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Narconon

2ND UPDATE: Same goes for any blogs promoting Citizens Commission on Human Rights (CCHR) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Citizens_Commission_on_Human_Rights#Controversies_and_criticisms

poprockys:

marshmalloink:

poprockys:

I have 20 units of insulin left, and that will last me like 2 days and I still dont have my insurance card yet so I’m fucking panicking. Idk what I’m going to do because I can’t afford insulin right now and without it, I’m going to die.

hey, uh – if anyone can, would you please consider donating to my boyfriend?? there’s not much i can do on my end and im really scared for him…

heres his paypal

and here is his ko-fi

update on this:

medicaid said it could take two weeks to process my papers, and no place here sells insulin over the counter. I’ve been to the e.r in the past, and they just sent me home and didn’t give me insulin.

I’m not gonna last two weeks guys. And I’m really stresed and scared.


https://anxiety-prone-human.tumblr.com/post/180128703035/audio_player_iframe/anxiety-prone-human/tumblr_oz3hct3EVb1u87ai2?audio_file=https%3A%2F%2Fa.tumblr.com%2Ftumblr_oz3hct3EVb1u87ai2o1.mp3

infinityonthot:

the-last-of-the-frosty-boys:

frixsky:

image

IM CRYING WTF

Lmaooo shdofjendudhsbsushsndndbfud who came up with this????? Op let me shake your hand

THIS IS GLORIOUS ADDISNDBDKZBDISGSISMFBSLSG

idkhowbutyoufoundme:

rotten-to-the-applecore:

pwapboi:

awful-ninja:

pwapboi:

biggest-gaudiest-patronuses:

seb-vit:

everything-is-better-with-a-ph:

biggest-gaudiest-patronuses:

biggest-gaudiest-patronuses:

nite nite lil fuckers. 

me as a parent

they shouldn’t trust you with children

They already don’t

technically you signed over your firstborn when you followed me 

great, now I owe my firstborn to FOUR people

Cut in forths or is it a custody battle?

Custody I guess. I promised it to several people 

Me, from my desk, lowering my glasses to glare at you: Did you bring enough firstborn for the whole class?

Mom says it’s my turn with the firstborn

But mom said I COULD have it!