School
School is the most screwed up thing I have ever seen. 20-30 kids are put in a room with an adult for 45min to 1 hour+ to learn about one specific topic and they do that for 6-8 classes a day for 5 of the 7 days. And don’t even get me started on the work load. And the stress levels. Students are so stressed over all of their work. Also can we point out that teachers are expected to only be strong in one subject while all of their students are supposed to get As in 6-8 classes? I know this isn’t the way schools work around the world but how would this make aliens question our reasoning? “Ugh I hate college. I have way too much work to get done.” “Human- Suzy certainly it isn’t that bad, right?” “I have over 3 hours of homework to complete in one night for ONE of my classes alone.” “What? That is too much for only one class. Certainly you mean 3 hours for the whole night and that is still too much for one person.” “Um.. no I have 6 classes and three of those are advanced classes so they expect more from us and the average amount of homework per night for those classes is 2-4 hours.” “You have 6 classes with that much work.. surely the negative health effects are being addressed in a positive manner.” “No actually this is pretty common for students.” “At least tell me all of these classes are over the same subject.” “Actually no. I have a math, science, history, english, language, and art class.” “And all of your teachers are experts in all of these fields.” “Once again no. They only know basics for all of the classes and are good at their subject.”
I’m doing so much better with art school this year. For the first time in about 12-13 years, literally since I started getting homework, I’m actually happy and somewhat relaxed. I’m not stressed. I’m not screaming with my mom because she’s trying to help me with homework and my brain will not focus because I wanted to draw and that’s taking over (ADHD). I’m getting sleep because I have time for myself when I get home. My grades aren’t dropping. Wanna know why? I only have four classes: a 3-hour art class, and three 30-45 minutes required classes. I have no art homework; I have enough time to finish everything in class, and it’s on Adobe Illustrator on the school’s computer’s anyway. One teacher hates giving homework, and actually gives us time in class to do our work. One teacher rarely gives it. One teacher gives homework almost every night, but it’s not a lot and not worth much of the grade.
I failed math my first year of highschool because I couldn’tkeep up with the homework. This year, in my math class, the one with the most homework, I have an A. I do the homework, because it takes 10-20 minutes in the morning. Even if I miss it, it doesn’t destroy my grade.
Teachers like to use the excuse that they’re preparing us for the workforce. Here’s what’s wrong with that: What job requires that amount of time after your shift to still work?
Teaching. At least from what I’ve seen. Grading, planning, etc. Some teachers use their own money to make class interesting.
What else is wrong?
Why is it a thing that anyone would have to do that?
Money?
Look, I don’t support communism. There’s a reason why it doesn’t work. Some people need money to motivate them to do work. If they don’t have uncentive, nothing will get done. That doesn’t mean I think capitalism is perfect. It’s clearly not. But it’s marginally better than communism, only because communism has failed more than capitalism. However, capitalism is not the answer. I’m trying to logic out a better option, even though I’m 17 and no one will listen.
I’m not trying to turn this into a communism vs capitalism thing, so I’m sorry about that. That’s just where this problem stems from.
Back to the topic at hand, someone somewhere thought that excessive homework is good. It’s not. I am doing great in my government class. My friends are doing great in my government class. Why? No homework. The teacher hates it. He thinks it’s pointless. He’s right. We’re all doing great, because we don’t have repetitive homework dropping our grade unless we slacked off majorly in class. I get either A’s or B’s on his tests.
Homework doesn’t help me learn.
Need more proof?
Last year I passed Algebra 2 with a B. I did very little of the homework that was assigned. I got bonus points on tests, and got a C once, because I forgot to take my meds that morning.
What helps me learn is the teacher actually teaching and not sitting on their phone and assigning three essays on what Ariel means when they ask Prospero if he loves them, or whether or not Technology is Bad with biased sources.
Sorry for the rant and making a fun post unfun.
Tl;dr: homework is bullshit and everybody I know including myself does better without it.