god, i’m so fucking tired of the purity wank fanfiction discourse going on concerning ao3 rn, ffs. honestly, y’all know if you come across shit you’re not into or makes you uncomfortable you can just,,, not read it?
Wait what’s happening
It’s discourse that’s been going on forever but here’s an article on Fanlore that kind of explores it in a semi-neutral fashion and explains the different sides and discussions.
In short: it’s basically a lot of discourse surrounding what sorts of content is allowed on AO3 and whether or not there should be more censorship on the site- and then a whole other discussion about why AO3 is raising money. And then another one basically saying whether it’s moral to support AO3 or not. It just… it has so many layers and so much bullshit and I’m tired.