my-life-as-a-teenage-robotnik:
I’m so mad because I’m going to be getting married and everyone is already telling me what THEY want me to do at MY wedding and it’s making me sick
I feel like can’t present the way I want to because people are hounding me about wearing a traditional wedding dress. I don’t want to wear a dress at all. I don’t want to be a bride. My s/o already knows this and accepts my gender and presentation. So why can’t other people?
Everyone is so obsessed with gender roles at weddings and it’s making me so mad! They’re telling me I have to do this and that because that’s what brides do at weddings, when I’M NOT EVEN A WOMAN (and if I WAS they still shouldn’t be telling me what I have to do at MY wedding!!!)
Hello, my future husband and I are going to be the most important people at this thing, so why should I be listening to other people about this? Idk why I even care what they think, I guess I’m just afraid of making my family hate me and disappointing everyone. because I was the only “girl” in the family and everyone wants to see me having a traditional wedding because it’s their weird fantasy or something…
My mom told me I don’t have to wear a dress but I’m afraid of what the rest of my family will think if I don’t. She also said I could just wear a less fancy more practical dress if I wanted to compromise.
But then someone at work was like “no you have to wear a traditional wedding dress!” Like I’m sorry but who’s the one getting married? Not you? So leave me alone?
GGGHHHH sorry I just. Can I hire a replacement family to come to my wedding and respect my pronouns and gender presentation pls
Reason #1 why I hate people, they’re assholes who think they know best. Ignore their opinions, it’s YOUR wedding and YOUR life not theirs, who care what they think, as long as YOU’RE happy.